Project Planning


Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) and Project’s planning knowledge area

The Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) as one of the widely recognized standards for project management profession has grouped knowledge area of the planning phase of typical construction project into mainly nine groups and listed them as the fundamentals of the planning phase of the project. It includes:

  • Develop Project Management Plan.
  • Scope Management.
  • Project Time Management.
  • Project Cost Management.
  • Project Quality Management.
  • Project Human Resource Management.
  • Project Communication Management.
  • Project Risk Management.
  • Project Procurement Management.

Each of which includes several processes and each process has been widely discussed and among practitioner. PMBOK has also suggested guidelines and pre-designed form how to conduct the process. Therefore, it is crucially important for Project Managers to boost their knowledge in those areas.

Leave a Reply